Vascular Birthmarks Foundation Forum

Vascular Birthmarks Foundation Forum (http://birthmark.org/board/index.php)
-   Living with a birthmark - my story (http://birthmark.org/board/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   my black eye: aka naevus ota (http://birthmark.org/board/showthread.php?t=6717)

felish29 02-19-2014 06:28 AM

my black eye: aka naevus ota

So I was just told today by the plastic surgeon the actual name of my black eye. I'm 29 years old and I've had this my entire life. I remember my siblings always telling me I ran into a door knob as a small child lol. I definitely went through the same things you all went through with people always thinking I had a black eye. It is on my left eyelid and extends about an inch above my brow. Also, I'm Caucasian, so it's gotten darker and larger as I got older, so it's just been the one thing that keeps my self confidence down. I have been covering it since I was about 10 years old and have gone through many trial and errors. In the end, Cover Girl has made literally thousands of dollars off of me but I refuse to go without makeup ever. Only my family and a few boyfriends have ever seen me without makeup on and actually though I emailed the plastic surgery place pics of it, I still had to take off my makeup in the office. I was literally shaking. So anyways, she just wanted to do a few test spots today and see me back in a week. I have to tell you ladies, when she lasered the first spot and said it got lighter, I started crying. This session was free because they do free consultations and I have no idea how much it is going to cost me, but I'm in pharmacy school and I already live off a cereal and tomato soup diet, but I will sell everything I own to get this defect off of me. I remember always getting in trouble in elementary school because the teachers would find me reapplying makeup in the bathroom. Oh, and even more annoying was being told, hey when you get older, you can just put blue eye shadow on the other eye to ma